St Philips Avenue, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS10 3SL

0113 2716763

St Philip's Catholic Primary and Nursery School

"In the light of Christ, where everyone is valued and learning is celebrated"


The Governors in conjunction with the Headteacher are appointed as strategic leaders of the school. This includes the appointment of all members of staff, teaching and non-teaching, monitoring the school budget share and the overall responsibility for the aims, ethos and implementatin of policies of the school. The governors are there to support the learning journey of every child and to ensure safeguarding measures are in place and adhered to.

All our governors are volunteers and have either been appointed to our community by the Diocese of Leeds, elected by parents, the local authority or by staff members.  We have seven foundation governors, appointed by the Diocese, one local authority governor, two parent governors, one staff member and the headteacher.

Our Governors receive relevant training on all aspects of school life and expectations to build their skills to allow them to make informed decisions and challenge the leadership team.

Our governors are supported by LCC Governor Support Service, National Governors Association and have access to information from GEL e-learning.
The Governing Body comprises:

Foundation Governors who are appointed by the Trustees of the Diocese of Leeds and hold office for a period of four years.
Headteacher Term Expires
Mr Peter McQuillen Strong (Executive Headteacher) Term of Headship
Mr Ben Sandbach (Associate member)  (Head of School) Term of Leadership
Foundation Governors  
Mr Guy Sissoko 31.08.2027
Fr Nigel Polland (Safer Recruitment) 31.08.2026

Mrs Joanna Wilson - Chair of Governors

(Safer Recruitment)

Miss Teresa Newsome (Reading) 31.12.2023
Mrs Gayle Hunter (SEND) 31.03.2026
Staff Governor  
 Miss Amelie Varlet  05.09.2025
Parent Governors  
Mr Matthew Clegg (Health and Safety) 10.02.2027
Mr John Mace (Safer Recruitment) 27.06.2024
LA Representative  
Mrs Ania Lamptey (Safeguarding & Children who are looked after) 24.01.2026
Teaching and Learning and Pupil Support Sub-Committee  
Mr John Mace (Chair of Sub Committee)  
Mr Peter McQuillen Strong
Mrs Ania Lamptey
Miss Teresa Newsome
Mrs Joanna Wilson
Resources Sub-Committee
Mrs Joanna Wilson (Chair of Sub-Committee)
Mr Peter McQuillen Strong
Mr Guy Sissoko
Fr Nigel Polland
Mr Matthew Clegg  
Mrs Gayle Hunter  


Chair of Governors
Mrs Joanna Wilson

c/o St Philip’s Catholic Primary and Nursery School
St Philip’s Avenue
LS10 3SL

Clerk to the Governors:
The Clerk to the Governing Body
St Philip’s Catholic Primary & Nursery School
St Philip’s Avenue, Middleton, Leeds LS10 3SL
Tel 0113 2716763


Governor's meeting minutes can be provided upon request.
Application to become a School Governor
Instrument of Government
St Philip’s Catholic Primary School, Leeds
  1. The name of the school is St Philip’s Catholic Primary School, Leeds
  2. The school was founded by and is part of the Catholic Church. The school is to be conducted as a Catholic School in accordance with the canon law and teachings of the Catholic Church and in accordance with the Trust Deed of the Diocese of Leeds and in particular:
    1. religious education is to be in accordance with the teachings, doctrines, discipline and general and particular norms of the Catholic Church;
    2. religious worship is to be in accordance with the rites, practices, discipline and liturgical norms of the Catholic Church;
and at all times the school is to serve as a witness to the Catholic faith in Our Lord Jesus Christ.
  1. The school is a voluntary aided school in the trusteeship of the Diocese of Leeds and is an exempt charity for the advancement of the Catholic religion in the Diocese of Leeds in accordance with the laws and regulations of the Catholic Church.
  2. The name of the governing body is The Governing Body of St Philip’s Catholic Primary School, Leeds
  3. The governing body shall consist of  
    1.  foundation governors                          
    2. 2 parent governors;
    3. 1 headteacher
    4. 1 staff
    5. 1 LEA governor.
  1. The total number of governors shall be 12.
  2. Foundation governors shall be appointed and may be removed by the Bishop of Leeds (or any other person exercising Ordinary jurisdiction in his name including where the See is vacant or impeded, the persons on whom the governance of the See has devolved).
  3. The term of office of foundation governors is 4 years.
  4. This instrument of government comes into effect on 31st August 2015.
  5. This Instrument of Government was approved by the Diocese of Leeds on 18th September  and made by order of  Leeds City Council on 31 August 2015
  6. A copy of this instrument must be supplied to the trustees in accordance with the school’s trust deed and to the Director of Schools of the Diocese of Leeds and every member of the governing body.
The Common Seal of Leeds City Council
was hereby affixed in the presence of:
Name:  Annie Kinder
Signature:  A Kinder
Job Title:  School Business Manager